deployment

I’m still at a loss for words. I woke up to what I thought would be just another day of writing and it turned into one of the greatest writing moments in my lifetime. A simple request from a soldier about to be deployed to the Middle East asked for a PDF version of all my books. I only have one book (Book II: The Saga of Thranduil) in a finished first draft I’ve made available twice this year (the last with some modifications). I gave her all I had hoping that when she returns home Book I: The Epic of Eryn Galen would she returned home. She thanked me and I thanked her–for reading and her service. It was a humbling moment for me. For what a story such as mine lacks in number of readers, it is abundant in the quality of readers that keep me on my toes and working hard to get it right.

I hope I can fulfill the promise of continuing to be a “favorite read” and the story retains its fervor for two more books. If it gives hope and happiness to a soldier in the midst of war or inspires others to want to write anything, then I my own hopes and dreams are reality. There is nothing more satisfying than giving someone the joy of reading and writing. I started out trying to prove something to my family and ended up proving something to myself–I could write a book. I just never knew how far it would go.

Lesson Learned: When you are trying to touch someone you want, you always end up touching someone who needed you more.–J.

