tumblr_mzii86zdbb1se756no3_r1_500

The return to Middle-Earth after the thaw of all things strange and unusual is hard. Every moment is a subtle breeze in a forest of leafless trees so what is rustling but pure imagination.

It took me two weeks to post more of Book II: The Saga of Thranduil for many reasons: I was having a hard time accepting the death of Dáin II Ironfoot who fell at the second battle of Dale during the War of the Ring; I was preparing myself for the end of Book II and the beginning of Book I: The Epic of Eryn Galen; Winter Storm Jupiter made it hard to work.

Whatever it was, I was given a second wind and the rustling in the trees are leaves–the green leaves of Mirkwood. As with all things magical, it comes when it comes and always without warning. That is what real life is–that is what story telling is. You are never ready for it but you follow it where it takes you–on an adventure.

You just have to let it happen.–J.

Image: ©2001. Warner Brothers Pictures. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. All Rights Reserved.

