I came over here to say something but I can’t because to be perfectly honest, it has been a week of non-stop activity surrounding my book from every direction. I’m not complaining–some questions are great, especially from other authors and professionals. Then there are the fans. I love them. They read and that’s great and I don’t mind their questions or admiration.

But…this might take some time to get used to.

I don’t understand the excitement surrounding my book from my vantage point. I’m not like some writers, I must admit. When I was a kid, I thought I had to be dead to be famous–like William Shakespeare. I actually wrote preparing for the day when I die, I would get noticed and appreciated. I don’t know why I thought that is how it was supposed to work, it just seemed right. Then again, I’m shy and low-key. You wouldn’t think so reading one of my battle scenes or one of the scenes where there is playful teasing among the elves in their youth. I lead a rather mundane existence complete with two cats and a love for documentaries, reading and writing. I’m really not that interesting.

f2cc4ea33b6b13cb34a7e51baba6c78c

To be brutally honest, I live like Bilbo. I am a creature of habit and prefer the quiet comforts of my 100-year-old house in the middle of nowhere. Yet, I am writing a book about an adventure. Sounds positively cliché, doesn’t it?

So, how to handle all of this notoriety, if you will? I have NO idea whatsoever. I just got one of the greatest positive reviews from a published author just on a brief synopsis and I had to read it a few times to grasp the underlying message of it all–“who is going to publish it and when will it be published?”

The very nature of this book I am over 500 pages into for one volume is difficult to explain to anyone. I wouldn’t know the first thing to say to any publisher–and I’ve had offers. This is my first book and most new writers don’t get asked by a publisher to send a manuscript directly to them. That is unheard of, but it is the nature of this book that is the reason I have to be particular about every detail.

I supposed I should have expected this, but I figured no one would find it remotely interesting–there is explicit sex or curse words in it. Sure, most of the characters are gorgeous but they’re elves. Outside of the complexity of the story and the backstories, it is rather pedantic, in my opinion. It’s the Bilbo Baggins of Fan Fiction. It reads like any other very long, extremely wordy, high fantasy epic story complete with battles and soliloquies that border on somewhat majestic, but in between all that, it’s just elves living their lives in the Woodland Realm.

So why am I being treated like I’m some sort of celebrity? I’m just a 5’3/4″ little person living in the middle of nowhere who was offered to chance to go on an unexpected writing adventure not knowing what would happen and expecting very little. Now I’m facing hungry goblins and fire-breathing dragons that crash through the sides of mountains and having to try to handle the situation.

How am I doing? I am not handling the situation. I’m dealing with it the best way I know how–trying to down play this phenomenon that is going on around me. In other words, I have no idea what to do other than write my story and completely ignore the fact people search for my book on Amazon and I have to periodically tell them it’s not there.

What can I do? Just write. It’s safer in my imagination right now.–J.

Image: ©2012. Warner Brothers Pictures. The Hobbit: The Unexpected Journey. All Rights Reserved.

 

