marchtodagorlad

The very first war I had to write about from the POV of Prince Thranduil, son of King Oropher was the War of the Last Alliance. Learning about the inclusion of the Dwarves of Khazad-dûm under the command of King Durin III was a dream come true to me for some reason. I bought toy soldiers to strategize and “play” war to the tune of descriptions over many volumes took six months for my first battle. It doesn’t last long–for the Woodland Elves are the first to fall as they were the first attacked given their position. But while working on all of that strategy and being in the presence of Gil-galad, Círdan, Elrond, Elendil, Isildur, Durin III and Oropher, this small little verse arose for the days marching to war.

I found that whenever you write such tales, you almost cannot help but tell it in some form of verse. I have a many verses as I have chapters for Book II: The Saga of Thranduil. Each time one comes, I get excited to tell more stories. It is like living in their world–being invited to participate in something far beyond role play because it comes from the imagination. That wardrobe in our head that opens up a whole new world on the other side of existence. To me, it’s far more vivid than a film. I suppose that is what drove me to write so much in so little time–I forgot I was writing because I was living.

There are plenty of new characters–one of my favorites is Jári, a dwarf Commander from Khazad-dûm under King Durin III. His brother Aûrvar is part of the Council of King Durin III. Where their stories lead after Dagorlad, I am not sure. But that is the part I love. Even though there will be an end, there will always be something left to tell–in narrative or verse.–J.

